Long Live the Blog Card

The business card is dead – long live the blog card

For years people have obsessed over fonts, the placement of information, and the size of logos: networkers like to have white spacMugger blog card no logoe on the back so that people they meet can make notes on their cards at events and creative people like to cover the card with images and art.

Vista Print has made getting a business card easy but it is not the free business card phenomenon that is killing the business card; it is that business has become more personal and engagement needs to be deeper than a bit of white card with your contact details on it.  Go to Google, type in my name and in 0.34 seconds you will get 32,000 results, ten seconds later you can email me through my Linked-in page or 15 seconds later see my mobile number on my website. Double those lead times and have how long it would take me to access the same information on you via my mobile phone after I met you at a networking event.   Now tell me – how does your business card help you engage on a deeper level, how does it convey your passion and your expertise, how does it help you generate the trust required to encourage a new prospect or new contact to take the relationship to the next level?

It doesn’t: The business card is dead – long live the blog card.

Let me explain: I started this blog to help people, to share my knowledge and experiences and to help companies adjust to the new social realities of business. When I meet people in networking situations or sales meetings I want them to know that I write this blog, I want them to see that I am an expert, that I have a vision and the drive to make change happen. I also want them to see my sense of humour and more importantly to see that I am innovative and forward thinking – because – well that is what people hire me for.

So I give them a blog card (still in its beta design phase) and I want to share my idea with you. On one side the blog card has my Golden Guy Intelligise logo and all the usual contact details you would find on a normal business card, + my blog and Linked-in details etc (I don’t Twitter I use the “Gordon is” function on Linked-in). On the other side it has a teaser from my blog.

So far every card given out has generated 10 views of my blog and 70% of Blog Card recipients email to say they liked the blog and a few have even posted comments. I have not yet categorised, optimised or promoted the blog other than through Linked-in and yet after only two weeks the blog’s readership is in the hundreds.

Have a look at my draft designs and see if this concept or a similar idea will help you to engage on a deeper level – if it works for you tell your contacts you have found a blog with brilliant advice on sales, marketing and business improvement.

Gordon MacIntyre-Kemp

2 Responses to “Long Live the Blog Card”


  1. 1 Stephen Smith July 23, 2009 at 11:44 am

    “We fear Change” is a meme I have come across so often in business that I feel the business card as we know it will be here for quite a while.

    In the mean time evolutionary steps along the way will help cards stand out from the crowd.

    Is there a link for the draft designs?

    • 2 thenewgoldenrules July 23, 2009 at 12:42 pm

      I used the word ‘dead’ for dramatic effect, and I agree: people will not stop giving out cards tomorrow.

      But

      Like all the old sales tools, cold calling, brochures, static corporate websites, flyers et cetera plain business cards are reducing in effectiveness. One of the evolutionary steps will be to make them more relevant by using them to point at vibrant online content that will enhance the depth of the contact – much in the way I have done with the blog card.

      Other innovations will involve technology but this will be ineffective and disparate for a few years. One day we will walk into a room and our electronic devices will match us up to the people that we might want to talk to / do business with and all relevant salient information will be electronically transferred. The dating industry will pioneer the technology but general business usage is at least ten years off – so the business card is not dead yet: just dying.

      Gordon MacIntyre-Kemp


Leave a Reply

